Logged Off for a Week. Came Back to War Whiplash.
Today is my first day back from a week’s vacation. We went to Vegas, had a pool day and just relaxed. I did my best to stay off my phone and avoid any Aaron Parnas Breaking News announcements. I came back recharged and refreshed and ready to tackle the second quarter! Yay Spring!
Last night was really the first night on socials and I saw Trump’s threat to Iran, Iran’s response and immediately felt like I was going to throw up. First, what president would announce such things via social media? Second, I felt fear that this was going to be where this war escalates. My husband, the calm one in our relationship, said…”Nah…he’ll back out.” Of course he would. I have a candle for this. It doesn’t mean this lunatic behavior shouldn’t have us all worried.
And we’re all just supposed to sit here and pretend this is normal leadership?
Because from where I’m sitting, this doesn’t feel strategic, it feels reckless. We’re talking about escalating global conflict with no clear explanation that stays consistent longer than a news cycle. One minute it’s one reason, the next minute it’s something else, and now we’re watching a situation unfold where even our allies have to be wondering what version of the plan they’re supposed to be reacting to.
Speaking of allies, weren’t we just threatening them? Talking about pulling out of NATO, taking Greenland, publicly insulting Canada and the same countries we might now need to stand next to us? You don’t get to spend months being a global bully (laughing stock) and then turn around asking for help when your impulsive war isn’t going to plan.
And while all of this is happening on the global stage, back here at home things aren’t exactly screaming “greatness” either. I live in Washington where gas is over five dollars a gallon. I heard Trump say it was Biden’s fault. Like Bitch…this is entirely your fault! He is manipulating the stock market, making social media announcement to tank the markets on a Friday. Then the billionaires buy up what the average American’s sell off , just to back off and have the markets back up on Monday. Guess who made money?
This administration can posture, threaten, escalate, and find money for everything that fuels tension, but they can’t keep our own systems running without breaking them?
What I can’t wrap my head around is how this keeps happening without anyone stepping in to say enough. How is Congress still allowing this level of instability? Why are we watching decisions with global consequences play out in real time without any sense of guardrails? At what point do we stop asking what is happening and start asking who benefits from it continuing? Let me ask you this, if both sides of the isle were not benefitting, this would have been stopped along time ago. Enough republican’s have flipped publicly to impeach TACO and his cabinet. Instead, they playact being outraged while the administration lie and avoid answers during oversight hearings. There are zero consequences.
None of this makes sense from where we’re sitting.
And I think that’s the point that keeps getting lost. This isn’t about political teams or picking sides like it’s a sport. This is about leadership, stability, and whether the people making decisions are actually grounded in the reality the rest of us are living in.
I haven’t even touched on the SAVE act, ICE at airports, Coast Guard not getting paid, or the $200 Billion dollars that is holding this country hostage. It makes me want to scream!
I’ve only been back on social media for 24 hours and I’ve seen the horrible things the President has said about Mueller, the way he speaks about those that don’t agree with him.
I’m so embarrassed of this administration and of ALL our congresspeople that have done nothing but pretend to be opposed to this regime, while getting richer benefitting from the market manipulation. Again, who is making money right now? It’s not us.
But hey…we have the invasion of Cuba to look forward to.
Plant your garden people…at this point we are going to need to grow our own food.
Till my next rant…Stay Malicious
Lacie
Leave a comment